HYPATIA’S LOVER

HYPATIA’S LOVER

This was my second venture in semi-fiction or historic fiction after Socrates’ Prison Journal. I am particularly fond of these two books/

Hypatia, the great Alexandrian mathematician and philosopher was brutally murdered in 415 AD by fanatic Nitrian Monks under Patriarch Cyrillus (St. Cyril). Her shredded body was burned and her philosophical books were burned. In the Foreword I wrote: “Hypatia’s atrocious slaughter is a sore wound in the human conscience that must be kept smarting if it is not to fester and poison the whole human body.”

In this little book I give first a fictionalized account of the last days of her life and of her tragic death. Apart from the three historic characters – Hypatia, Cyrillus, and Orestes the Roman prefect – all the other characters in the story are fictitious.

As we know that Hypatia’s philosophy was Platonist, I thought I could expound my philosophy in the interstices of the story. When I found that overloading the story with too much philosophical discourse would damage the story-line I decided to supplement the story with imaginary excerpts from Hypatia’s lectures and speeches. No falsification is involved in this since it is well-known that, thanks to the Church, nothing at all remains of Hypatia’s philosophical work, and since I explicitly state in the Foreword that “the philosophy I ascribe to Hypatia is confessedly my own”.

  1. R. Khashaba

July 18, 2016.

DOWNLOAD

 

Leave a Reply

