SOCRATES’ PRISON JOURNAL

I have now uploaded my third book, Socrates’ Prison Journal. In the fictional framework of a journal kept by Socrates during his thirty days in prison awaiting execution, I sum up my reading of Socrates’ philosophy and present the philosophy I develop for myself, inspired by Socrates and Plato.

FROM THE PREFACE TO SOCRATES’ PRISON JOURNAL

(First published in 2006)

 

>The idea of this little book had been luring me for decades. I kept putting it off because I did not feel sure about where to draw the line between representing Socrates’ thought and presenting my own. After having published Let Us Philosophize (1998) and Plato: An Interpretation (2005), as well as numerous articles, where I gave my reading of Socrates/Plato, I felt I could give myself free rein without worrying about fencing apart what might be read into Socrates/Plato and what is an accretion, provided always that the accretion be harmonious, in the writer’s judgement, with the rest.

“Beside the basic fiction of the prison journal, I have, from the start and throughout, introduced anachronistic citations, fictional situations, dreams and divine intimations, to emphasize the non-historic intent of this work. Nonetheless, I maintain that my reading is truer to the genuine spirit of the Socratic-Platonic philosophy than much that goes as scholarly and erudite analysis and exposition.

“I am aware that there is much reiteration in the following pages. I go back again and again to the same subject and repeat again and again the same thoughts in various forms of expression. I feel that this is necessary, since one of my main concerns in this as in my other writings is to correct what I see as grave misunderstandings and distortions that have become firmly established within mainstream philosophical thought; I am also trying to introduce and clarify concepts and views which I claim to be original and important. Both these tasks call for and justify much reiteration and much insistence.”

 

  1. R. Khashaba

July 16, 2016.

Download: https://philosophia937.wordpress.com/socrates-prison-journal

 

 

Leave a Reply

